1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Don't quit your day job... Share it!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Soy-Quoia, Feb 6, 2017.

1. Soy-Quoia

Soy-Quoia Member

So, I'm stuck with a sick kid and I don't have all my documents to add to my previous posts. (Having a full shop off site has both benefits and draw backs!) I've been doing some catch-up on work and have been struggling with some issues our company is having and I thought "I wonder what member of the Sequoia-Forums do for a living?!" Obviously, I think I can figure out what Paul does... And, for the most part, anyone who has bothered to fill in the occupation portion of their personal detail. (Full disclosure, I just filled mine in)

So... What do you do? Give a quick breakdown of your job. Maybe we have jobs that can help each other out!

I am a quality engineer/metrologist. Almost 100% of my job is travel. I work with manufacturers to ensure they are making a quality product that meets manufacturing specs. One of my main tools of trade is a portable CMM. (coordinate measuring machine) A CMM takes very precise measurements to give the most accurate measurement detail of anything of size. I also use a 3D laser scanner to capture details of many different material types. With a 3D laser scanner I am able to scan just about anything into a point cloud which can then be converted into a CAD model.

My company currently has me traveling to central WI on a department of defense job. I am working with the manufacturer that is building the HUMVEE replacement vehicle for the military. It's one of the more interesting jobs I've been on!

I enjoy my job. I end up in a wide variety of places, from power plants scanning turbine rotors to personal garages scanning personal cars.

Tell us about yourself!

kevin pritchett likes this.
  2. Jim Smola

Jim Smola Active Member